Trying This Yet Again

Well, after another long break, I am back to trying to blog.  Since the last time I posted anything, things have gotten crazy.  So I think it is time for a reintroduction.  I am Emily, I am 25 years old, with a wonderful husband, and the biggest difference from the prior post we now have TWO wonderful little girls.  Alice is 3.5 and Wendy is 3 months.  My hands and heart have been very full!!  But once again I will try to do this.  And as it always seems to go, I will start with a recipe.  After a week long trip home, we arrived home at 1am Sunday-between getting the girls and ourselves ready for Mass (it was Easter!) I was to tired to grocery shop so I put together a meal from what I had on hand.  I found a recipe for chicken noodle casserole and started from there 🙂

 

Chicken Noodle Casserole

Prep Time:10 Min Cook Time:30 Min
Serves 6
Ingredients
  • 2 cups uncooked egg noodles
  • 2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
  • 1 (10 oz.) package frozen peas and carrots*
  • 1 (10 oz.) package frozen corn*
  • 1 onion chopped and satueed*
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 (10 oz.) can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 (10 oz.) can cream of mushroom soup
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4 Tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon dill
  • 1 teaspoon parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning (optional)
  • 3 tablespoons bread crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons shredded parmesan cheese
Instructions
  • Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray a 9×13 inch baking dish with nonstick spray.
  • Boil egg noodles according to package directions. Drain water.
  • Meanwhile, in a large bowl combine all the other remaining ingredients except  2 tablespoons of butter and the breadcrumbs . Add cooked noodles to mixture. Gently stir to combine. Pour into prepared baking dish.
  • Melt the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter and mix in the breadcrumbs and cheese.  Sprinkle on top of the noodle mix.
  • Bake 30 minutes or until heated through. Remove from oven and let stand 5 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

*I did not have full bags of any of these frozen veggies so I pieced together veggies based on what I had in the freezer, that is also why I added onion-and on the onion vein:  I put the onion in raw, that left it less cooked than **I** prefer the onion to be which is why I suggest sautéing the onion first!

 

Original Post that I used as a starting point:

Chicken Noodle Casserole

Leave a Reply

