Cheeseburger Soup

Given the time of year I have once again returned to making soups.  After a string of frigid days with sub zero wind chills I decided that today, while I was home alone would be a good day to make some soup.  After some looking and some thinking I settled on cheeseburger soup.  Below is the recipe, with my notes and modifications in bold.

CHEESEBURGER SOUP

Prep Time 15 minutes

Cook Time 35 minutes

Total Time 50 minutes

Yield 4 servings

All the flavors of a cheeseburger in a creamy, comforting soup, topped with crisp bacon and hamburger bun croutons!

INGREDIENTS

3 hamburger buns, diced into 1-inch cubes

4 slices bacon, diced

1 tablespoon olive oil

8 ounces ground beef

1/4 cup unsalted butter

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 onion, diced

2 stalks celery, diced

2 carrots, grated

1 teaspoon Worcestershire (I was out so I just used a bit of A-1 instead!)

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 1/2 cups chicken broth

2 cups milk, or more, as needed

2 russet potatoes, peeled and cubed (honestly, I would skip the potatoes, while they give the soup a bit more hearty feel, I don’t think they really added to it over all)

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

2 tablespoons chopped chives

1 Tablespoon Dill

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spread bread cubes in a single layer on a baking sheet. Place into oven and bake until crisp and golden, about 10-15 minutes; set aside.

Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add bacon and cook until brown and crispy, about 6-8 minutes. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate; set aside.  (An alternate option is to bake the bacon until crispy-I find it to be less time consuming and I can pop it in and then work on chopping veggies, or peeling potatoes!)

Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium high heat. Add ground beef and cook until browned, about 3-5 minutes, making sure to crumble the beef as it cooks; drain excess fat and set aside.

Melt butter in a large stockpot or Dutch oven over medium heat. Add garlic, onion, celery, carrots and Worcestershire and dill. Cook, stirring frequently, until onions have become translucent, about 2-3 minutes.

Whisk in flour until lightly browned, about 1 minute. Gradually whisk in chicken broth and milk, and cook, whisking constantly, until slightly thickened, about 1-2 minutes. Stir in potatoes.

Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 12-15 minutes. Stir in ground beef, cheese, salt and pepper, to taste. If the soup is too thick, add more milk as needed until desired consistency is reached.

Serve immediately, garnish with croutons, bacon and chives, if desired.

IMG_7324 IMG_7325

I didn’t make the croutons right away because I wasn’t serving my soup until the next day!

Since I was serving this the next day, I didn’t mix in the cheese until I heated it up the next day.

I originally found this recipe on Pintrest which took me to a website called damndeliclious.net which has some great recipes, but tweaked it a bit!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

